One Last Hug

image

“Can I hug you?”

It came like a whisper, but it lingered in my ear.

I slowly turned to him, confusion written all over my face. I waited for more words, but it never came. He was busy with his sketch pad, careful with every stroke he did with his pen.

He was facing me, but I could’t see what he was drawing. I mentally sighed and told myself that it was either he was talking with his pen or I just heard him wrong. I think it’s the latter.

We’ve already spent two hours sitting under a big tree. He said he just wanted some company while he draws. Without second thoughts, I agreed to walk with him until we reached a mini park on a hill by the sea.

There were swings but he chose to sit on the big roots of the tree. I just followed.

He was acting weird today. He’s always been loud but today he’s been unusually quiet. I didn’t mind though.

I just wanted to be with him.

For it might be the last.

“Aren’t you done yet with that?”

I asked him impatiently, trying to grab the sketch pad from his hold but he swiftly took it away from my sight while laughing at my attempt.

“Are you sure you wanted company? It didn’t seem like I’m wanted here, you know.” I said with a pout while pointing at myself.

Again, he just smiled and ruffled my hair. I frowned at him as I try to fix my now unruly hair.

“Wow, thanks for trying to style my hair. It’s a mess though” I told him sarcastically as I turned my back at him.

I just focused on the waves and birds doing a show in front of me.

If he’s not going to talk to me, then it’s better to suit myself with beautiful things.

“Can I hug you?”

There goes my imagination. I’m starting to hear things again.

“Can I hug you?”

La la la la, what the hell is wrong with my ears today?

“Can I hug you?”

Maybe it’s the wind, or the birds perhaps?

Something then landed on my lap, and all I did is stare at

it.

Wow.

It’s me. It’s my face. Me facing the sea, sitting on a big root, with sunrays striking my face..

He just drew a picture of me.

“Can I hug you?”

This time, I looked at him. He’s smiling again.

“Think of it as your graduation gift for me. Can you do that?”

He’s smiling.

But his sad eyes tell me he’s feeling the other way around.

Why would he want to hug me all of the sudden?

Then it hit me.

It might be the last.

I gave him my most genuine smile and spread my arms. Without me answering, he already knew what it meant.

We hugged for God knows how long.

I felt so heavy, but I didn’t cry, I didn’t frown.

All I did is hold him in my arms as tight as I could.

Even if it would be the last.

Even if it would be our one last hug.

One thought on “One Last Hug

Leave a Reply

