100-Word Story: Heartbeats

I have special powers. I can hear people’s heartbeats at a maximum distance of fifty meters. And through their heartbeats I could decipher their deepest desires – love, lust, money.

Most people, if not all, have darkest the hunger for material things. Every day I get to hear hundreds of heartbeats but they all cry out for the same cravings.

But there’s one man who seems to be exempted from my ability — my boss.

Today I tried again, but I couldn’t hear a sound.

Only then I’ve realized two possibilities.

One, he doesn’t have a heart; or two, he’s the Ironman.

Leave a Reply

