TO THE MAN I LOVE

Maybe one day, he’d read this and would just smile without uttering a single word.

Maybe he’d tell me, I’m kinda melodramatic for writing this, but duh, it’s okay.

For there are things  I can’t say.  Maybe I’m just shy, or afraid to do so.
But I can surely write about it, inside my head, inside my heart, or on a paper.

There are just things I couldn’t say, but I could write about.

So here it goes,…..

—-

To you,
Who have held me all night
While humming a song,
I love you.

To you,
Who have handed me a piece of candy
Whenever I cried,
I love you.

To you,
Who told me I’m the best
When I didn’t believe in myself,
With no words,
But a silent smile,
I love you.

To you,
Who worked all day and night
To give me the things I need,
I love you.

To you,
Who are miles away
But have always been by my side
And inside my heart,
I love you.

To you,
Who never showed any weakness,
But was trembling in fear inside
For every single day,
That you didn’t see us grow,
I love you.

To you,
Who let me see
That I can still trust a man,
Despite my fear,
I love you.

To you,
Who never said ‘I love you’
But spelled it out,
I love you.

To you,
Who showed me
The greatest love I could have,
I love you.

To you,
Who I can never thank enough
For all the things you’ve done,
For all the things you’ve said,
Or have not said,
I love you.

To you,
Who I have always loved,
Though I never did tell you
A single word,
I love you.

To you,
Who have always been the greatest man,
The greatest silent friend,
The greatest fan,
The greatest F.A.T.H.E.R.,
I love you.

And if one day,
You get to read this,
I hope you’d smile,
I hope you’d feel every word.
I hope you’d be happy.
I hope you’d see,
You’re one of a kind,
Someone I’d never regret to have
Someone I’d never cease to love.
You’re the man I love.

13 thoughts on “TO THE MAN I LOVE

    • Wow! You honestly touched my heart! You made me cry and each time I remember you and your poem my eyes tear because your feelings are so honest and so real that they touched my heart. Thank you i know how it feels to be left without your father…. my father is alive thank Allah (god), but my grandfather was the one who I loved most and losing him 9 years ago is still a shock!!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Thank you Rahma, I’m still on the process of letting your words sink in. Hehe. I’m just glad that somehow you felt what I was trying to let others feel about this poem. And well, my father’s still alive too, but is currently working in a city, away from us. I’m not good at communicating orally. I admit I’m introvert, and writing is the best way I could express myself:)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

