Making Learning Relevant

A Flower's Thoughts

One of the ways to create a positive classroom is to make learning relevant. When I taught math to grade 3 public school pupils, I was able to instill why mathematical operations were important to learn. I mean, all of us could agree that we need to learn addition, right? But I also had to make them learn why saving was important, why they had to count the change and why they had to return excess money, why sometimes we had to bargain etcetera. I believe that skills and values are equally important.

High school is different. I frequently questioned why they wanted us to memorize the elements and their atomic numbers, the dates when this and that died, the scientific names of the animals in each Phylum, the terms and definitions in HTML. The list goes on and on. I got good scores because I was good at memorizing…

View original post 677 more words

Leave a Reply

